OPINIONATRIX…because my opinions dominate











{June 7, 2008}   VEEPSTAKES

Both Democrats and Republicans now have a nominee, so naturally the next question is who will McCain and Obama choose as their running mates?

John McCain recently had a friendly Memorial Day BBQ, which was rumored to have actually been phase one of the vice presidential selection. The contestants? Charlie Christ, Bobby Jindal and Mitt Romney (Huckabee was also supposedly on the guest list but couldn’t attend) I think each of these guys could be big assets to McCain so the question remains; who will it be? Personally, I think probably Bobby Jindal. He’s young, charismatic, a minority and he was the one McCain chose to introduce him on June 4th after the last primary. Without knowing too much about any of these guys, I like Jindal the best, but I think Charlie Christ is McCain’s best bet. Florida is a big deal state and Christ could be a major asset in delivering a key swing state to the Republican’s. Plus, the right wingers of the party would probably love to have a Christ on the ticket!

In Democratic circles, the big question is whether or not Obama will ask Hillary to be on the ticket. I certainly hope not. I really admire Clinton and think she is a great politician, but I think putting her (and Bill) on the ticket begs for a giant power struggle. People will question the choice and of course rumor would circulate that Obama’s hand was forced. This would make Obama look weak and not in control. The Obama ticket would be best served by a more typical VP candidate. Personally I think Joe Biden or Ed Rendell would be a good pick. An older, white male with a long history in politics could possibly help assuage fears of older white voters who are reluctant to vote for a young black guy. However, I do think there is a big role for Clinton to play should Obama be elected president. I think she would make a great supreme court justice (which to me sounds both more powerful and respectable than VP) or even a major cabinet position. I don’t think Obama/Clinton is a dream presidential ticket but I do agree with the many out there who claim that if they work together they could bring about great changes.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
