OPINIONATRIX…because my opinions dominate











{July 9, 2008}   OMG that’s SO embarrassing; or how Barack Obama is just a normal guy.

With all the media coverage and superstar status that has been bestowed upon the 2008 presidential candidates, it is sometimes hard to remember that they are just regular people. It is for this reason that I loved this article published in the Sydney Morning Herald. In it Malia – Barack’s 10 year old daughter – talks about how her dad embarrasses her by shaking her friends’ hands. Malia then goes on to say:

“You really don’t shake kids’ hands that much … You just wave or say hi.

This is so endearing, and it brings Obama back down to earth. It makes him look like more of a real guy, rather than a superstar politician.

I can totally relate to Malia! My Dad was SO embarrassing, it sometimes seemed he went out of his way to humiliate me in front of my friends. Seriously, I could write a book. And in true embarrassing style, he always made sure he went the extra mile. For example: it wasn’t bad enough that he collected dollhouses (which he displayed all over the house) – he insists on calling them folk art – he was also profiled in an article written in Miniatures Magazine. Also, not only did he own various “classic cars” throughout my childhood, but he drove me to school in them while blasting music from yesteryear and singing along – loudly. Sure people thought he was funny, if not somewhat eccentric, but can you imagine how mortifying this is for a teen? (If you have trouble imagining, trust me it was truly awful)

So to all the 10 year olds out there, I wish I could tell you that things will get better and your parents will mature along with you. Sadly, I am currently in my mid 20’s and my father continues to find ways to make me cringe… the upside though? As you get older, you start to care less and less. Dare I say, the things I used to be embarrassed by, I now find almost cute. Almost.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
